health / spirituality / yoga

the journey begins…

Tibetan Thangka depicting Mount Kailash

Tibetan Thangka depicting Mount Kailash (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Here I am; out of shape but generally healthy. After surviving a huge shift in my life this past year, I have decided to undertake another journey.  I am going to become a certified Yoga teacher.   It might seem an unlikely thing for someone of my age to do; let’s face it, the image one sees in the mind’s eye of the stereotypical yoga instructor does not resemble me in the least.  But I need this.   And after 44 years of inhabiting this body, in this lifetime, I have learned a thing or two about myself.  I have learned that I am driven in some areas of my life, and I neglect others.

For instance, I am a veteran English and Drama teacher.  I taught in the public school system for 15 years, won numerous awards and hold multiple certifications. I have staged and directed hundreds of successful productions, and coached acting students all the way to the state level of competition.   If it has to do with my professional life…I kick ass.  True story.  But ask me to apply that level of discipline to my personal life…not so much.  And there is a story behind that, and I am sure that at sometime down the road I will be lead to share some of it with you.  But today… today I am holding myself accountable.

I figure (knowing myself and all)  if I attach a professional goal to a personal one, I have a better chance of succeeding.  I have needed to pay serious attention to my health for the past three years, and am now in an emotional, physical, and spiritual space to do just that.  So I am turning back to routine that I have dabbled in for 17 years. I began studying yoga in the ’90’s. Took classes and practiced on my own and with yogis on and off for that entire span of time.  But I never really embraced it as a long-term, daily practice even though I feel and look better when I do.

So when searching on-line for a certification program that I could perhaps afford…lo and behold…I found one.  And with the help of a scholarship from my church, The Church of Holistic Science, I am embarking on a life changing course.

My textbooks and materials!

My textbooks and materials!

My materials arrived yesterday, and today is Day 1.  I am making this a public journey for a couple of reasons.  Reason 1- To hold myself accountable. Reason 2- to show others the amazing trans-formative powers of yoga.

I chose to study Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga.  It uses coordinated breathing and postures to raise awareness of one’s body, mind, and spirit, and is said to have its origin in an ancient text called the Yoga Korunta, compiled by Vamana Rishi, which Krishnamacharya received from his Guru Rama Mohan Brahmachari at Mount Kailash in the early 20th century.   I have always been drawn to the beliefs and attitudes of that part of the world and therefore was drawn to the study of this practice.

Thank you for taking the time to read my story.  I will post pictures of my journey as well as try my best to describe what is going on inside of what is being revealed on the outside.  Until then…

Namaste.

Leave a Reply

